ECE Department 2017-18 Awards and Honors

Vijaya G. Raghavan Fellowship

Lingyi Zhang


2018 Outstanding Predoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Lhacene Adnane Yan Li Sadid Muneer Nafisa Noor


Summer 2018 Predoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Sharief Abdel-Razeq Shahed Enamul Quadir Yanping gong
Raja Gudlavalleti Wenjie Huang Wei Kou
Xuesong Lu Arshiah Mirza Khushboo Mittal
Fengyu Qian Zongyuan Shen Radu Visina
James Wilson Gang Yao Danxu Zhang


TA Awards

Fall 2017 Hamza Omar
Spring 2018 Arshiah Mirza


Best Paper Awards

A paper written by Professor Krishna Pattipati, CSE Professor Bing Wang, students and colleagues was awarded the prestigious Best Paper Award for CoNEXT’18, a top conference in networking: ( Yanyuan Qin, Shuai Hao, K.R. Pattipati, Feng Qian, Subhabrata Sen, Bing Way and Chaoqun Yue: ABR Streaming of VBR-encoded Videos: Characterization, Challenges, and Solutions”.

Emil Stefanov, Marten van Dijk, Elaine Shi, T.-H. Hubert Chang, Christopher W. Fletcher, Ling Ren, Xiangyao Yu, Srinivas Devadas: “Path ORAM: An Extremely Simple Oblivious RAM Protocol”, J. ACM 65(4) (2018).  Selected as one of the 2018 Top Picks in Hardware and Embedded Security.

Bahram Javidi’s paper published in Advances in Optics and Photonics has been a top download of the journal since it was published earlier this year:  Manuel Martinez-Corral and Bahram Javidi, Fundamentals of 3D imaging and displays: a tutorial on integral imaging, light-field, and plenoptic systems”